Fitness Blog 5: Updates, tips, and motivation.

Hey guys! It has been a while since I’ve posted with school and workouts I don’t have too much free time. This is just sort of an update on me and how I’ve managed to succeed thus far into my cut.

Time: I spend on average two and a half hours in the gym per day. I usually warm-up, lift high volume for my muscle group of the day and do an ab routine within the first hour and a half, and as you all know I spend a solid hour doing high intensity cardio every day that I work out.

Style of Lifting: as mentioned above I tend to do high volume now. It is different than my strength workouts, but it is more beneficial to my goals. I do sets ranging from 8-12 reps with a 30 second break in between sets. On chest day for example I will do Bench press, Incline barbell press, Cable Flies, decline Dumbbell press, and dumbbell pull overs. A workout that short would only take 45 minutes tops, but I like to add some machine work in there for the added benefit.

Cardio: my cardio is pretty straight forward I just go at it for an hour. It doesn’t really matter what machine, or cardio workout you do as long as you push through it. I recently read that doing sprints, and other fast twitch exercises before your distance runs is more beneficial for fat burning. I will try it out and see how I like it and give a follow up on it in the upcoming weeks.

Diet: the hardest part for me so far is maintaining a strict diet and not falling to temptations. I have done a solid job so far. To be completely honest I wouldn’t have made it as far as I have if it wasn’t for my Calorie tracking app, called “My Fitness Pal.” I’m telling you it is a great tool for anyone looking to enhance their diet. I also decided to check into some simple concepts that make dieting even easier. Going relatively low on Calorie intake can make you feel empty and fatigued because most of the time people continue to eat their everyday meals. If you eat a 12oz Ribeye steak that will generally cost you around 750 Calories on average, and if you consider a cup of Broccoli it only contains around 31 Calories. I went ahead and did the math and with those numbers you could consume 24.19 Cups of Broccoli instead of that steak. Now obviously, we are assuming a perfect world and ignoring Macronutrients for a moment, but just given those numbers one could see how eating carelessly could make you feel hungry. I’m 100% positive that 24 cups (if you could eat that many) would be way more filling and a higher volume than the steak. So, just choose foods that aren’t so Calorically dense when dieting, it will save your day from my experience.

I have managed to increase my number of pull-ups by nearly double, cut time off of my mile and somehow increased my bench press while managing to cut around 35 pounds since my last weigh in. my mindset has been pretty fixed. I just continue to think of the long term and not allow lazy thoughts to creep into my mind. I continue to think that today is the day now is the time, because you aren’t guaranteed tomorrow. You might as well make the most out of your day that you have, and make it something special. Each day is a blessing and opportunity given to us by God to better ourselves, and maybe even help someone else along the way. Remember, losers wait for the right moment, but winners make the moment right.

Be sure to follow me on Instagram, twitter, and snapchat to stay updated on new posts and to ask me any questions you may have. Go out and make today great, and make the moment right.

Instagram: _absher_

Twitter: _absher_52

Snapchat: absher97

 

 

Published by

Fitness Motivation

First off my name is Shane Absher, and I'm from the Southwestern Region of Virginia. I am a college student at the University of Virginia's College at Wise. My goal with my blog posts is to inspire each individual into becoming a better, and more motivated version of their self. I have explored many avenues of fitness, and would like to share with each my own goals, and maybe even ways for you to accomplish your own goals. I want each of my readers to share my page to your friends and allow them an opportunity to possibly become inspired to change. Remember, change is scary, difficult and unique but it is for the better. God bless you all and have a great day! Remember to share each of my posts and follow me on instagram, twitter and Facebook. IG: _absher_ Twitter: _absher_97 Facebook:@Shane Absher

Leave a Reply

