Fitness blog 3: Misconceptions

Hey guys!! These last two posts have been pretty successful, so as promised I will continue to do this fitness series. In this one we will discuss a few aspects that no one really considers, where I am in my cut cycle, and a VERY small Q&A at the end.

Exercise: guys, the number of things that qualify as exercise are impossible for me to list, there’s that many. You don’t have to stick to the traditional Lift, Run, and repeat method, which I prefer. You can change your life doing the things that you like, and fitness should be fun for everyone. If you like to play tennis, then play tennis, that will get you looking good for the summer and change your life in a positive way. If you enjoy dancing, bowling, walking, backpacking(hiking), or whatever that involves physical exertion then do that to help you along the journey. Not to knock lifting and running, that is my preferred method but that is just because I enjoy it and the results are there for me. So, it helps me stay motivated. Whatever makes you happy and healthy, do it. You should enjoy what you do, but keep in mind you should still push yourself, that isn’t a signal to slack off and expect results.

Consistency- I know I hit this topic last post, but I can’t stress how important consistency is when you have goals set. If you run once a week, but disregard all the other six days, then you can’t expect to be achieving your goals extremely quickly. Consistency is key; you must get after it every day if you really want to get to your end goal.

Comparisons- when you are on Instagram or social media in general and you see this extremely lean aesthetic huge body builder, or ladies when you see that woman that has the “perfect” body, please realize they are extremely rare. They aren’t the minimum standard of fit, so if you aren’t close to them it’s okay, not many people are. Social media can be amazing for fitness, but at the same time it can lead to discouragement and unnecessary comparisons. Just be a better you than you were yesterday.

Flexibility- Flexibility is a really neglected aspect of the fitness world. Many people just pawn it off as a waste of twenty or so minutes, but the results can be rewarding. Flexibility helps you maintain a proper posture. Also, it helps you go through greater ranges of motion with less energy expended. It’s a major point that should not be left out, and stretching before and after a lift or physical activity in general greatly reduces your chance of injury. You don’t have to do yoga or anything but it is still a great idea to at least work on your flexibility everyday with some basic stretches.

Hydration- Staying hydrated is also another neglected part of exercise and fitness. Staying hydrated will reduce your fatigue, leading to a better and more efficient workout. It also has many cosmetic benefits as well, it gives life to your hair, and teeth. Staying hydrated will help reduce joint pain and lead to more efficient movements. Personally, I drink one gallon, or 128 ounces of water per day, but I think the minimum is 64 ounces. If you meet your personal requirements, then you should be fine. Just don’t forget to sip on water throughout the day. Staying hydrated also helps with weight loss, so keep that in mind.

As far as my workouts I am right now in the most challenging part of my cut cycle. As I mentioned in my previous post it is important to slowly lower yourself down to your Caloric intake goal, and I have done just that at 1900 per day. It is difficult because the cardio portion of my workouts have also gotten slightly longer. If you want to see results you must be willing to sacrifice. These next few week will be challenging, and having this cold won’t make it any easier for me, but you have to overcome obstacles to get to your goals. So, this will just be a small bump in the road for me.

As promised guys, I will reveal one of my workouts, and I will answer a couple questions that were sent in. remember to give me a follow-on twitter and Instagram for sneak peeks of newer posts and a way to send in questions.

Q&A session

Q: Where are you from?

A: I am from Norton, Va. I small city located in the southwest region of Virginia.

Q: what supplements do you take, and what should I take to gain weight?

A: I personally don’t take any supplements, but if you want to gain weight I would consider a mass gainer. It isn’t a bad idea to talk to your local GNC employees to see what they have in stock for you, and what they may recommend.

Workout reveal

Leg day:

Cardio warm up: 10 minutes

Squats: 5×10

Leg extension & curls: 5×10

Lunges: 3×10

Leg press: 3×12

Smith machine squats: 4×6-8

Calf raises: 5×12

Ab session: your preference

Cardio: one hour of your choice, I recommend an elliptical or some relative of it for knee comfort.

Instagram: _absher_

Twitter: _absher_97

Snapchat: absher97

Published by

Fitness Motivation

First off my name is Shane Absher, and I'm from the Southwestern Region of Virginia. I am a college student at the University of Virginia's College at Wise. My goal with my blog posts is to inspire each individual into becoming a better, and more motivated version of their self. I have explored many avenues of fitness, and would like to share with each my own goals, and maybe even ways for you to accomplish your own goals. I want each of my readers to share my page to your friends and allow them an opportunity to possibly become inspired to change. Remember, change is scary, difficult and unique but it is for the better. God bless you all and have a great day! Remember to share each of my posts and follow me on instagram, twitter and Facebook. IG: _absher_ Twitter: _absher_97 Facebook:@Shane Absher

Leave a Reply

